top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Smitherman

Deciding whether to place myself in the narrative..

Updated: Feb 4, 2021

One issue I came across very early on, even before my pitch, was whether I would include what happened to me in the documentary.


In talks with my supervisor last month, I expressed my concerns that if I were to place myself within the narrative of the documentary then it could possibly jeopardise my impartiality as a journalist. Especially as I have had an email interview with a representative from the website who doxxed me.


She told me that if I do decide to then I would have to ensure that the section would be as short as possible, to make sure it didn't take over the entire doc.


Ultimately, as I have begun to see how all the interviews and information will fit together, I have decided to leave my own experience out of the piece. I think this will allow the speakers contribution's to speak for themselves, the victims that I have spoken to have had much more powerful stories than mine is.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page