top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Smitherman

Last minute adjustments...

In the final days leading up to submission I have made some vital changes to my documentary. Firstly I have had to add a sentence at the end of the piece which states that Fem Fax has now been removed from the internet, I discovered this after doing further research and thought it appropriate to include this.


Due to concerns over audio quality I wanted to see if I could do anything to my clips of Dylan, after a huge number of attempts to make it as clear as the other clips I decided my only option was to write to him and ask very nicely for further help. He graciously sent me a voice note of him answering my questions again and after inputting them today, there is a significant improvement!


The biggest change was that I decided, after conferring with my supervisor, to put my own experience of doxxing in the documentary. This comes after concluding that to not do this, in order to remain fully impartial, it would in fact be false objectivity because I was doxxed and hiding that from the listener would be unethical.


I chose to do this in the most minimal way possible, I have recorded a clip stating that I hadn't heard of doxxing either until it happened to me and then later a second one saying that it happened in June last year. I also make it clear that my experience has led me to want to learn more about it, which is my only objective for making this documentary. I chose this approach in order to protect myself from further danger, but also so I can make sure that I don't become the story and take away from the more important stories discussed later on.


In the spirit of true transparency I wanted to provide my audience with all the facts and allow them to draw their own conclusions from it. I also believe that by learning that I have had my own story of doxxing, the listener will view me as a source of knowledge about the topic. I think this last minute change is an important one that will benefit my project massively.


I am comforted by the fact that being doxxed has not affected my journalistic ability to tell this story in an impartial manner. I truly believe I have produced a well balanced and fair documentary that examines various view points of the topic and provides information and advice to all listeners, not just doxxing victims.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page